The Benefits of Dissociation: Pledging to recognize the gifts in all of us!

I just discovered this super fantastic initiative: Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project.

What a group of bloggers and what a cause this is – imagine the amazingness we can create together!

Have a look at the Mental Health Project blog and join these super intelligent, creative and original bloggers who are making a great, and very needed contribution!

2014 Blog For Mental Health badge by Piper Macenzie

I am absolutely commited to exploring stories of trauma and related mental health challenges, such as Dissociative Identity Disorder, in order to figure things out for myself and I hope, for others.

For this reason:   “I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”  

I’d like to support this group by sharing  with you an insight I discovered just this week. In the midst of struggling with tension, confusion and a tsunami of tears I couldn’t let out, it occurred to me that there are real benefits that result from my periods of dissociation. Yes, I did come to this after a lot of venting; slamming my fists in response to poor media portrayals of mental illness, cursing people who seem to be happy and carefree; kicking up a full blown temper tantrum when I hear people judging others, especially more vulnerable people. The worst, are people who turn away from family members who are struggling with mental health challenges!

Try to relate to depression, or anxiety, and especially to behaviours that are ‘strange’ or unfamiliar to them IS difficult and very challenging, but seriously?!!

It is so much easier to dismiss people along with their suffering and hard earned accomplishments, than to recognize their triumphs and truly understand why they are struggling or what their behavior is about.  It is complicated; very difficult to take another’s perspective, especially one with mental health problems: this we all accept. Think about it, mental health challenges make us inconsistent, irrational at times, unpredictable at other times; even untrustworthy; we stand out from the norm. It does take a lot of compassion and insight to understand and respect people, but surely we can find a way.

COMPASSION; is something those of us who have suffered from mental health challenges, are really good at!

Yes, we know suffering inside and out; and as a result, we have real respect and compassion… in spades! As survivors and people who overcome stress on a regular basis, we ARE sensitive, compassionate, multiperspective and intuitive- we have to be to survive. As a result, we can take other peoples’ perspectives quite easily without judging them. We don’t throw our hands up and criticize; nope…  we understand and we know better 🙂

Struggling with mental health challenges, I believe, has given me a number of special gifts!  Here are the benefits I have gained from working through dissociation, overcoming challenges and the related symptoms of trauma:

  • Genuine, heart felt compassion
  • Being able to see disparate parts in others
  • Recognizing that negative or “bad” behavior are not always what they seem
  • See past fakes and facades
  • Comprehend layers of truth
  • Creative problem solving
  • Truly understand another person’s perspective
  • Humility and respect for myself and others

Its ALL good and it is important to acknowledge  these strengths in ourselves and others. Even though I continue to struggle with confusion, pressure and frustration or negative behaviors, I am trying to channel all of it into productive, supportive action for my self and others. We learn to self-respect, not in an omnipotent or selfish way, but through a genuine, calm and caring way. This is the gift we have and, this gift comes with the responsibility to share with others.

We are in the best position to support, educate and lead others to respect us and eachother!

No matter how frustrated, or scared, they are; no matter how much they don’t understand, or don’t want to accept those of us who seem vulnerable or different, no matter how fearful or ignorant they are — we can model true compassion and respect for everyone!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Benefits of Dissociation: Pledging to recognize the gifts in all of us!”

  1. It took so long for me to stop resenting or pitying myself and wish I had started respecting myself a long time ago- hope you can- one step at a time:)

Leave a comment