Tracking Mental Health Factors: Dissociation on the rise

Screen Shot 2014-06-02 at 7.25.42 PM

Well, looks like a big mess doesn’t it?

The best laid plans of…. often go awry…..

I started tracking the variables, I suspected to be important, a couple of weeks ago; everyday rating my level of each from extremely poor (1) to really great (10) to see what I could learn. What is behind my inconsistency? Surely, I can figure this out and make it better for myself! Hey, I figured, I can use myself as a case study; use a 10 point rating to assign values to each factor everyday- what could be simpler?

I’m chuckling because the chart does reflect me perfectly in one big way: CHAOTIC!

Ok, okay…I will try to figure something out. Here goes:

  • I had great clarity (thinking clearly, organized, focused) for several days but lost it over the past few days
  • There were no triggers I am aware of; at most a couple
  • My intake of health meals declined with an increase in dissociation
  • Decline in clarity is associated with an increase in dissociation
  • Relationships were also more stressed when clarity reduced
  • As the clarity reduced and dissociation increased, so did my anxiety
  • Doesn’t seem related to social demands or other known triggers
  • Alters were not significant but felt a little today and yesterday with high levels of confusion

I have no idea why but late Friday (30th), I began to feel lighthead (typically the beginning of a state of dissociation).  I wondered if it was the slice of white bread I ate in the afternoon (I know I need to avoid gluten). Nothing else had changed. Then Saturday morning, I couldn’t concentrate or keep things straight. I kept busy with mundane, routine things (I have learned this helps), drank a lot of water, tried to eat better, but Sunday (1st) was worse.

But why?!! What can I do?!

Sunday started very unsettled (felt like something was churning in my stomach and chest- must have been an Alter) and worsened but I was able to stablize the splitting by early afternoon by shutting out a lot of stimuli (keeping to myself) and researching from my ‘to-do’ list.

Here’s what happened on Sunday (1st):

  • 5:30am – woke up to walk the dog, very tired, feeling restless
  • 7:00am- had breakfast (2 poached eggs), started research because I was too restless to lie down and rest
  • 7:30am- anxiety increased, panic attacks started- all the while I am experiencing confusion, poor clarity (not yet fragmented, but unfocused and confused)
  • 7:50am-  feel very sad, eyes well up with tears (still have no idea why)
  • 8:30am- feeling much more distressed, weak, dizzy
  • 8:53am- eat 2 slices of turkey and 3 rice crackers, drink water
  • 9:00am- started coaching myself (self-talk: reassurance, directing myself outloud), breathing, telling myself to relax, focus on finding the information I was looking for (research on art therapy for a post)
  • 11:30am- more breathing, another walk, and I did it!! I brought the anxiety and distress down, and even felt a lot of the confusion clear.

MONDAY:

Today, however, my head is more confused. Today I do have full blown fragmented thinking (back to only managing mundane tasks). Throughout the day, the dizziness worsened and I couldn’t manage my hunger or fatigue levels. I even tired to lie down for 2 hours but not a wink of sleep, and instead I had panic attacks the whole time.

Well, I tired. I tried to figure it out. I will continue to track, measure and document everyday, as there has to be some clue I am missing in amongst all this chaos. After all, solving a mystery can be fun.

I am going to target what I know I can control: eating and sleeping. So off to bed early tonight and high green/protein food tomorrow.

Let me know if you see anything I missed or anything you think I need to add to the daily tracking variables.

Try, trytry again. If at first you don’t succeed…

Good Night!

 

Leave a comment